remington 700 build.

bclark1

So ive been considering making a custom remington 700. Ill hopefully use this rifle to begin shooting long range as well as an occasional hunting rifle. I was thinking about 300 win mag or 300wsm. Im going to dublicate a 700 stock from black walnut, finish reaming the barrel and fit it to the action, glass & pillar bed with free float barrel, and do some trigger work. What else should I look into doing? This will be my first bolt action total build and im going to take it slow. Is the 300 win mag good for longer ranges? I do handload and have a fair understanding on the basics of long range shooting. I am still learning but most of all I need some experience and a whole lot of practice. I am hoping to top this rifle with a nice scope besed on the mil system. Ive been looking into the bushnell elite tactical scopes. Can anyone recomend any other good scopes.

They are very similar performance wise. I'd say consider the 300wby while you are thinking. Just a little more gas than either of the WM's. A lot of people think though you will get the best barrel life out of the WSM case so if you plan on shooting it a lot that is a consideration.

I'd say your biggest decision comes in deciding which of the premium barrel MFG's to go with so once you decide on caliber and make that decision you are well on your way.

For scopes depending on your budget I'd say the Vortex Viper PST Mrad, or the VXIII Leupold's. The 4-16x50 viper pst or 4.5-14x50 Leupold's will get you to 1000yds ok on deer and larger sized critters.

Thanks a lot for the help. I would like to have something with a little more fps like a 300 wbm or a 7mm rum but I can y seem to find rem 700 barrels for those calibers. Do you know where I might could find one.