Reloading questions

tayhot

I shoot a 300 RUM and want to start reloading for this cartridge. I have some reloading knowledge but more is needed. Here are my questions...

I have a ton of once fired 300 RUM case that were fired from my rifle. What do I need to do in order to properly/accuratly resize the case? FL size, neck size, etc. Are the competition dies that much better? If so which one should I get? I understand that the comp dies can be set to add more tension around the neck (making it a tighter squeeze for bullet), is that neccesarry and if so how much tighter? Thats all for now

Your help is appreciated

Tayhot,

You'll need a set of dies (full length is prefereable, but let the debate start now ), but the ability you mention about varying neck tension will call for one of the bushing type dies, such as the Forster or Redding Type-S. given a variety of properly sized bushings, these allow you to control the amount of neck tension. You don't mention what sort of use these rounds will be put to, but I assume we're talking about hunting ammo? For this, you may want to try a conventional seating die and see if there's any run out issues. If so, then you may want to spend the extra bucks for a competition seating die. They may produce straighter ammunition, but it's not a guarantee, and convetional dies can do a good job if they're used/set up correctly. Given the springback involved in brass, you really can't get too much more than about .002" or .003" neck tension. Besides, anything much more than this is probably just excessive working of the brass.

Hope this helps.

Thanks Kevin. What is the definition of run out? These will be used for hunting

I have quite a bit of 300 rum loading "stuff". Just re bbld my last one to 300 WM.
hornady comp. fl set, rcbs neck die, forster body die, etc. and several hundred new rem brass. will sell reasonably.

Tayhot,