Reloading Help - horizontal stringing

cb4128

I'm reloading for my 264 win mag and found a good load for it, but I was looking for some help with either shooting technique or loading tips. I have almost zero vertical dispersion in my groups, but some horizontal stringing going on everytime I shoot.

I've currently only shot the gun with a front bipod and rear bag. Not sure if it's my shooting technique that's causing left to right misses (not gripping the stock aggressively, thumb to the side) or if there's something else on the reloading side I should tweak? Wouldn't think it'd be neck tension, but I'm also pretty new at reloading so looking for any help I can get!

Thanks a lot

How much? What distance? It could be you. It could be your load. If you want to learn about horizontal vs vertical I would point you to googling Tony Boyer vertical stringing and secrets of the Houston warehouse. It is a lot of reading but very good information. It may be a little difficult to apply to your application but a good read none the less.

100 yards - 1/2" wide and 1/8th of vertical. After a littel bit of reading, I'm going to double check my torque values on my scope rings, base and action screws.

Next step I will adjust the trigger slightly lower and do some dry fire practice to see if it's user error...

Thanks for the reading tip!

Yes, I should have said I was assuming your equipment was good. I am assuming bedding is good and action screws are properly torqued.

One question, do you touch the stock with the non shooting hand ANYWHERE in front of the trigger guard??
I have found, even with the best laid-up fibreglass stocks, that touching the fore end in some instances will change poi horizontally.
When using a bi-pod, the vibrations change, in the barrel and in the stock depending on WHERE the hand is gripping the stock upon firing and how much pressure is applied to the bi-pod. I load mine positively, this tends to reduce the 'bounce'.