reloading for 223/5.56 questions

Bigeclipse

New to this round but not reloading in general. I know 5.56 is basically a 223 with a bit more pressure. I recently started shooting a mini 14 which I really like and would like to start reloading for it and make up several loads. one load for cheap plinking, another load for accuracy/hunting out to 300 yards and a third load for maybe house defense although I am not sure id want to be using a 223 for defense but who knows.

So first question, should I not even bother with 5.56 pressures and simply stick with 223 loadings (my mini 14 is stamped 5.56 on the receiver so it can handle it).
Second question, which bullets for coyotes out to 300 yards and last question is which rounds (if any at all) for home defense. Was thinking maybe V-max since they do not over penetrate. Any thoughts or things im missing?

Both the .223 and 5.56 are loaded to the same exact chamber pressure of 52,000 cup or 55,000 psi. The pressure confusion comes from where the pressure traducer is located for the European CIP (NATO) pressure readings and reads as 62,000 psi.

Below the specifications for the M855 5.56 round. (55,000 psi SAAMI transducer method)

PagesfromTM43-0001-27_CHG-2a_zps8ca7aaa4.jpg

The SAAMI interchangeability pressure warning between the .223 and 5.56 came out in approximately 1979 when the military switched from the M193 round to the M855 round and lengthened the throats on the M16 rifles.

223_zps6248614d.jpg

The problem is when the military M855 round is fired in the shorter SAAMI .223 throat the the chamber pressure will be approximately 5,000 psi higher.

Now to add even more confusion, the throat in my Savage .223 with a 1 in 9 twist is longer than the throat in my AR15 rifles. Many of the rifle manufactures today are making the .223 chambers with a longer throat. This makes plenty of room in the chamber for the cartridge and the company lawyer and also lowers the chamber pressure.