Recommendations

Frankie_2_Times

Let me start off by saying I'm new to the long range game, but definitely interested in learning more. I've been reading through a bunch of the posts and want to start looking for my first long range shooter. What I'm looking for in a hunting rifle, not necessarily a featherweight, but something that isn't a chore to tote around in the field. I haven't set a price limited yet because I'm usually willing to pay mor for better quality. Right nowI'm thinking somewhere in the $2000 range for the rifle, not including optics. I've got a moose and grizzly hunt in Alaska that I would want to use this rifle. Thought a .300 WSM would be a good candidate. I'm also a leftie, so that sometimes makes things more challenging in terms of find equipment. My limited understanding of what it takes to put together a custom rifle and my time table makes starting a "project" rifle a difficult task. Looking for recommendations for an off the shelf shooter.

F2T, The 300 WSM is a great cartridge, but you might find a 300 Win Mag easier off the shelf. Unfortunately, not many left hand actions in the market place. No rifle off the shelf will probably be great without some tuning. Remingtons have the most options to "tweak" with. Look for a Model 700 lefty and go from there. Just be sure to get a bolt face with the caliber compatibility you can build on. Good luck. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/cool.gif

A 300 wsm for grizzly? I don't think that would be the best caliber choice. If you are going to buy a new rifle for this trip I would go with a chambering in .338 if not .375. For $2000 you could get a custom rifle, but if you want to buy a factory rifle you should look at a Sako, they are garaunteed to shoot 1" at 100 yards. That should be plenty of accuracy for moose and grizzly.