rebarreling at home

Possum284

I'm just getting started in most of this and I am planning a project but want to do as much of the work as I can so I was wondering if you can rebarrel a rifle your self at home I have a ruger ultra light in 30-06 that is worn out and I'm planning on rebarreling it to 9.3x64 and I was told if I got the barrel threaded and chambered I could just screw it to the action but I wasn't sure so I thought I would ask. Sorry for the long post and newbie questions I just don't wanna mess up my stuff thanks.

Its not as easy as just screwing on a new barrel , the barrel needs to be fitted to the action so that the bolt is the proper distance away from the barrel shank and this can only be done correctly with a lathe and having your action their to fit check , the the barrel has to be chambered and the action should be their for this also as the headspace has to be set.
Their are some "prefit" bharrels out their that are short chambered that you can finish ream at home by hand but It is far from the better way to build a gun.

Your best bet is to send you action out and have it barreled correctly , you will end up with alot better job

You can do it...

They say you can make anything in metal with a file, a/k/a poor mans milling machine. You can buy a short chambered barrel, a reamer, hand driver, and go and no go gauges. I would suggest a Lambeth/Kiff Micrometer adjustable Reamer Stop and a Hand Driver for your reamer. It will make the job a piece of cake.

Oh I forgot, some heavy cutting oil, mineral spirits, rags, a couple of pieces of wood and a table vice, and air hose if you have it.

After you finish the first one done manually you will either hire a professional gunsmith or get access to a lathe. This is a great project for the beginer. There have been several articles in magazines over the years about doing just this project.

Rustystud