question on cheytac rounds

mitchell

hello gentlemen

i've been a lerker on this site for quite some time so i figured i should make a post

i have a few custom rifles with my babies being my 300 win mag built on a remington 700 action and a 338-06 built on a savage. i feel fine taking the 300 to 1000 yards on deer, but i'm a soldier and when i return from this deployment i will be pscing from ft hood texas to ft lewis washington and would like to start hunting elk. so a new toy is in order.

i was looking at the cheytac rounds. the 408, although a great round, just doesn't have the hunting bullets available. so i have been looking more to the 375 cheytac and the 338 cheytac. the 338 seams to be the flatter shooting or the two also with a little less wind drift but the 375 isn't far from it with a good bit more energy. i was wondering what you guy think of the two and what you would pick . with my goal being a 1000 yard elk.

also i have never had a rifle with a custom action. i know the cheytac round come from the 505 gibs family and the gibs was made to fire in a mauser style action, but do you think a remington 700 style action (or savage, winchester, cz ect) would be ok for this build ? or should i just save up some more change and go with a custom action? and if so do any of you know a custom action that wont brake the bank?

thank you for your time

mitch

338 is where it's at right now and would do just fine at 1000 for elk. Bullet election in the 375 just isn't there yet.

A remington or factory action will not work. I would go with the new stiller action for this build.

There is a couple cheytac pro's out here I'm sure they will chime in on this. If not give kevin Cram of Montour County Rifles a call. He built himself one and its a shooter. We killed a whitetail with his this year at over 1500 yards.

570-437-2010

Welcome to the forum Mitch.