Pros and cons on buying a Chrono?

Laker_Taker

Hi to all,
I keep reading about everybody using Chrono's. I do not know how to use one or what brand name to get. I have been reloading for three years. Does anybody have any suggestions on what kind to buy and how to use. I reload for a 22-250,270win 270 weatherby and a 30-378 weatherby mag. Also will it tell me the velocity at different yardages? Like 0,50,100,200 etc?

Sorry to ask dumb questions
Aaron

You may wish to consider using the search feature and seeing what you come up with. There have been plenty of discussion regarding this subject.

Bottom line is if you're gonna get serious about LRH ya gotta have something along the chrono lines.

Here's my 2 cents:

Got a shooters chrony for xmas a couple of years ago. Price was right (zero to me). It gets pretty bad press and I "think" its inconsistent from time to time. OK for a string of shots but 30 min later w/same load velocities are off a bit /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/confused.gif But very useful for working up loads and observing standard deviation of a string of shots. I use actual down range data, that is, I shoot at each distance to see the bullet drop. Then back calc to determine BC to develop drop chart.

However, the during the last two days of rain, it was out in it for both days. Felt real comfortable with it as soaking a more expensive unit would have kept me from load development. It functioned as designed. Was overcast thus the shades weren't needed.

I think that variations in readings is related to variations in brightness of the sun, but I'm not sure.

I think an Ohler 35 (spelled wrong, not sure where the 'e' goes) can be had for $225 and would be the best purchase. You'd never have to look back. Double screens bring the price up but gets one next to "lab" quality for field work.