Problems at 300

farpiece

I'm a newbie, thats bewildered. My rifle is a savage 12 LRP - 260 Rem. I sighted it at 100 yards and was shooting right at 1 moa, with 140 g core lokts. Took it on a doe clean out, and dropped 5, all with very good shots. Last weekend took it to the range to qualify past 300 yards, and was all over the paper. Still shooting core lokts, but crap was I terrible. I'll reload with 140 berger vld and work my loads up using H4350 (I've got 8lbs and berger says I'll get close to 100% fill). But lord Im at a loss why I did so badly this weekend. Wind was minimal.

Scope Parallax, ammo or shooting technique will probably be the culprit for the accuracy issue as long as the enviromental conditions were good.

Factory ammo? My 260 is a model 10 savage. It does not like factory loads. I mean like 2"-3" groups. I could get just under an inch with HSA and Southwest match grade loads. When I started handloading, the groups got cut in half. The thing has a pretty deep throat, the handloaded rounds barely fit in the magazine. Factory rounds had way to much jump. It's now a very consistent shooter, if I do my part. Cloverleafs are now very common. I shoot the 140gr SST.

I had a day with my 300 ultra that sounds just like what you went through.I did not change anything the next day at the range and had three touch at 500.I just figuired it was me .I would give it another try before changing things

far, check the action screws for torque to spec. Which stock do you have and have you cleaned the barrel lately?

Yep, first thing is to check your scope mounts, rings, and trigger guard screws.

Pull it back in to 100yds and see if it's still on there and then start working through the list of possibilities if it's not.

Yep, first thing is to check your scope mounts, rings, and trigger guard screws.

Pull it back in to 100yds and see if it's still on there and then start working through the list of possibilities if it's not.

+1 on this!!