Pro Bed 2000

Jud96

I ordered a 16oz kit of Pro Bed 2000 for a couple of my personal rifles I have to bed here soon. I've never used this stuff before and previously I've stuck to Devcon and have used Marine Tex as well. I am debating on returning this stuff or sitting it on the shelf and just ordering more Devcon. Initially I thought it was worth trying out, but I've been thinking more on it and wanted to ask for some opinions and expertise on this stuff.

I don't know any smiths that use Pro Bed and most of the reviews and information I've found seems to be from DIY guys and not many professionals that I've seen. At first I thought I'd give it a go, but now I'm kind of on the fence about it. Can anyone give me any details on how the shrinkage compares to Devcon and/or Marine Tex? Also, does it powder out after a couple years of use in magnums or competition rifles and need re-bedded? Most of the things I've read about it is how easy it is to work with and that it sets up well without air pockets or voids but no information on shrinkage or strength after it has cured. Thanks guys!

I used it on a Stocky's carbon stock for a skim bed a few months ago. It is a Howa Carbon Stalker in 7mm-08. It went fine for me and just as I expected based on my previous bedding jobs from decades ago with some others products. I did not notice any shrinkage however I'm not shooting that rifle right now (probably going to sell). I would definitely use it again.

Attachments

• 37233FC7-54F1-4AD4-9CE1-B68D0CED8F2B.jpeg
    37233FC7-54F1-4AD4-9CE1-B68D0CED8F2B.jpeg
    1.7 MB · Views: 154
  • 013CC18B-798E-41DD-B703-C3400B4CFFEC.jpeg
    013CC18B-798E-41DD-B703-C3400B4CFFEC.jpeg
    1.3 MB · Views: 169
Thus far I have only used Devcon 10110 but the mixing ratio is a pain. I recently found out one of my machining mentors uses it and likes it over Devcon just because of the mixing ratio. I'm on my last Devcon can and once it's gone…I'm going to try it too.