Performance of Wildcat bullets

gabby

I'm going to shoot Wildcat R.B.B.T. U.L.D. 130 gr. hp in my new 25-06 AI. I understand they they do well at long range. To my way of thinking that means they will expand slightly then plow through ( mule deer @ 500-700 yds ). Correct me if I'm wrong. Does anybody know what this bullet will do at much closer range? Say 100 yds more or less?
Mike

Gabby,

I have no experience with the WC 130 25 Cal bullets.

However, the 195 WC in 277 is a great terminal performer as seen from gathering remains from my "blow sand" backstop.

They act pretty much like an SMK without as much damage to the jacket. The mushroom will be very nicely formed leaving the back half of the jacket perfectly formed. The core does not stay in the jacket for the most part.

This with the bullet hitting the backstop, 1/2" plywood backed by 8" of very fine blow sand. It penetrates as much as the nosler 225 accubonds but doesn't have the the weight retention of the accubond.

It's hitting the 200 yard backstop at about 2800 fps which is pretty severe.

That bullet will expand very similiarly to what you would see with a conventional cup jacketed bullet such as say a 120 gr Sierra hp gameking. The special thing about these bullets is the higher BC which at longer ranges offers increased energy and higher retained velocity so you will get better expansion at longer ranges then what would be normal with a more conventional bullet.

I have not used that bullet but I have used the flat base 130 gr Wildcat ALOT on game and it works very well. I suspect that at the velocity ranges you will be using this bullet at, you will get great performance over the usiful range of your chambering.