Part 1-Equipment upgrades after First LRH

royinidaho

The hunt was a 31 consecutive day stay in the mountains North of the North Fork of the Salmon River.

By way of my background. I hadn't spent more than 3 consecutive days in the mountains since 1971. During my Navy days while stationed 2 years in Idaho I spent 5 days a month during elk season in the mountains around Shovel and Yellow Jacket Creeks. Additionally I've been doing long range shooting for only 3 years and have had the APS 270 AM, "Big Girl", for only 2 years.

I was way more of a greenie than I thought.

I figured that Buffalobob could use a little help eating all of that antelope. Which, by the way, was better than beef. The vote on that was unanimous.

My intent was to also assist w/glassing which was a pretty poor performance on my part. There wasn't an animal spotted that BB didn't spot first. Except for the day he went on a walk about and I spotted some bedded does at about 1400 yds.

All in all I hope I wasn't too much of a handicap. This hunt was one of the more rewarding things I've ever done.

These posts are focused on my equipment. There is much personal preference regarding equipment. Equipment selection is dependent upon personal preference, locality for use, style of hunting, and weather.

Other than the shooting mat/drag bag and the AM and optics my equipment consisted of a circa 1966 external frame back pack and a 2000 Olympics school type back pack that I got from McDonalds for 5 bucks, after the Olympics were over. And he only called me "pilgrim" once.

In this and following posts I'll describe equipment and how well it did or didn't work. I'll also describe modifications and additions that I've made to improve the long range hunting experience.

Shooting Mat/Drag Bag.