Opinions on build vs custom

JLP83

Hello all, I have a 7mm Rem Mag Sendero rifle that is completely stock and have a Nightforce NXS 5.5x22x56 scope mounted on it. I've been using this setup for fun shooting and hunting for the last several years. I've never had anything custom so its been the nicest setup I've ever owned or operated.

However like most people I'm never satisfied and want to dive in a little deeper. I'm considering spending some coin to make improvements on this gun or maybe selling it and buying a new custom rifle from a reputable builder. At some point I'd like to start entering LR matches and want something that I can use for events and still hunt with. I do most of my hunting from fixed positions so weight isn't really a big concern.

What should I do. Start building the rifle I have or sell it and go full on custom build? What changes would you make to the Sendero? If I go the custom route who is your recommendation? I know GA Precision has been one of the top builders for a while now but who else should I be considering?

I would consider selling it. It is a long action with a mag bolt face. Any rifle for competition will most likely be a short action non mag bolt face. You might decide on something like a 6.5x284 though for the long action, but would have to have a new bolt because of the mag bolt face.

Probably really need to decide on the cartridge you plan to use, then consider what to do with the Sendero.