OCW Target Interpretation

mrjashu

Looking for some advice on where to go next. Here's the relevant info.

300 wsm in 24" barrel
Reloader 16, this string is 59.5g to 63.0g in 0.5g increments
Berger 185g Classic Hunter
COAL is 2.900 ( I tested four different COALs at 59.0g to arrive at this one)

At the top charge of 63.0g there were no signs of pressure at all. Primers looked just like all the rest, with no other pressure signs.

Where would you go after this? This is a Factory Rem sporter barrel so expectations aren't super high but I do want to get all I can out of it.
Thanks in advance for looking.
135gBergWorkup.png

Last edited:
I'm still fairly new to load development, so take this with a grain of salt.

If it were me, I would run it up to max first. If you're not seeing pressure signs, why stop?

Assuming no higher charges look promising, I would try to run #211 out to 300-500 yards, exploring .1 and. 2 grains either way from 63 and see if it still looks good.

After that, fine adjustments on the seating depth to see if the group can be tightened.

Again, grain of salt.

I'd probably load up one each from 62.4 to 63.4, going at 0.1 per.
In such, check only the velocity. You'll see a flat spot with regard to speed, and there is where your node will be. As #210 and #211 are close with regard to group placement on the target as well as velocity, the sweet spot likely is hiding there.

Continue on the path you have started. The other two are suggesting veering slightly off your path. If It were my rifle I would I would load 62.8, 63.0, 63.2, and 63.4. I would guess 63.0 will be you load.