NIKON MANARCH 3 OR VORTEX VIPER HS Help?

KyScott

Gonna buy a new scope for my M70 Coyote light 270wsm. I have it narrowed down to the 2 listed below for my budget. Which one has the best glass? Which would you pick and why if you have experience with either. I have to say I did have a Monarch 2.5x10x42 and wasnt real impressed with it. It was a nice scope but not what I thought it would be. I have no experience with the new Monarch 3 or any Vortex scopes. Thanks ahead for the help!

Nikon Monarch 3 4x16x50(44mm actual size)
FOV 100YDS 6.3-25.2
Tube 1 inch
Eye relief 4 inches
length 14.7 inches
Weight 19.4 oz
Custom XR turret(doesnt really matter to me)
$449.00 New

Vortex Viper HS 4X16X50(50mm actual size)
FOV 100yds 7.4-27.4
Tube 30mm
Eye relief 4 inches
length 13.7 inches
Weight 22 oz(seems a little heavy)
$399.00 New(Seems like an awsome deal)

Last edited:
I have personally used Nikon's MONARCH 3 4-16 BDC scope on numerous occasions. At one Nikon sponsored event it was one of the BDC reticle scopes we used to inform folks on Spot On and how it works with the BDC reticle. It was amazing to see the reaction's guy's wold get after entering the information into Spot On then applying it to the BDC reticle and watching them walk rounds on targets out to 500 yards. Excellent glass, tough scope and back by Nikon.
I believe this scope is still on sale for another week or 2 so if you're interested check out a site sponsor to see if they are a participating Nikon Dealer. Drop me a note if you have any question's.
I just finished doing a shoot where we used the Winchester Model 70 Coyote in 270 Win., a heck of a rifle with sub MOA accuracy right out of the box.

Here's a pic of the MONARCH 3, if you want to see the Coyote let me know.

MONARCH34-16.jpg

Wish I had experience with the Vortex to talk about... but don't... (disclaimer :cool:)