Nikkon Monarch 4-16x42 vs Bushnell Elite 4200 RI 2,5-10x50

imr

Hi, I am looking for a scope for one of my hunting rifles. I don't want to spend much money. In my search I found the Nikkon Monarch 4-16x42 and the Bushnell Elite 4200 RI 2,5-10x50. Which one do you think is better to medium-long range hunting? I have never had either of them.

Well I have no experience with bushnell. However I have the monarch. No complaints at the price point. Sure I've seen better glass but it's decent. I'd put it on par with a vortex hst I have in the glass department. Tracks just fine. I have not measured to see if it truly is .25moa clicks but seems pretty close. Have had it on a couple .308s. Always held it's zero. I'd buy another.

In those powers both are great. I have a few monarchs and was very happy with them. The only one leaving me wanting more is my 6-24 anything over 18x and it starts to get notso clear. To be fair I never noticed it until I started using nightforce at the high mag. I just put the bushnell elite 6500 2.5x16 on my full ti and carbon pierce built 6.5 creed. Loving that scope even on 16x. Will be my first season and hoping it performs well in the field.

imr,

For me the choice is easy. I had a Nikon that I accidentally breathed on and it fogged for a couple minutes. I also have a Bushnell I took out the following weekend in the same weather and breathed on it. It fogged but cleared immediately. I sold the like new Nikon.

imr,

For me the choice is easy. I had a Nikon that I accidentally breathed on and it fogged for a couple minutes. I also have a Bushnell I took out the following weekend in the same weather and breathed on it. It fogged but cleared immediately. I sold the like new Nikon.

I don't think that is the norm for Nikon. I have more nikons than anything else and I have never had any issue like that. They are still the best bang for the buck imo. My only complaint was the high end mag got fuzzy. Up to 18x very good scope.