Newbie Rifle Questions

cgshoots

I'm new to long range shooting, and have been looking at rifles for a few weeks. I wanted to try and get some feedback from actual shooters so I joined these forums for help. I started out looking at the Seekins Havak Bravo, Bergara Ridgeline and DD Delta 5. Also have researched glass like Vortex, Nightforce and others in the $2k price range. I decided I didn't want to spend $4k+ on my first setup so that led me to looking at cheaper options like the Bergara B14 HMR and Browning Max Long Range with something like Vortex Viper PST Gen2 glass to go on it. A setup like that is roughly half of what I started out looking at and I'm leaning to going that direction but wanted some more feedback from actual shooters.

To sum all that up, I'd like recommendations for a roughly $2k setup including glass, and same on a $4k setup like mentioned above. Im not a pro but I can work on my guns some. I've built a couple AR's and repair my older shotguns when I have issues myself, so building one might not be out of the question. Any input appreciated!

Buy once, cry once. Especially in the glass department. Maybe compromise, get a $1k rifle with a $2k scope. You can upgrade rifles....but not scopes.
All of the rifles mentioned have plenty of potential.
Look at used glass. You can get a $3000 scope for $2000 if you are patient. I have bought plenty of used scopes.

There's nothing wrong with the Vortex PST Gen 2, that's an awesome scope for the money. The Leopold LRP 6.5-20x50 would be another great scope in the same price range. Also check out the Nightforce SHV 5-20x50. You don't need a $2k scope in my opinion. I've shot thousands of rounds through $300-1000 scopes and never felt I needed anything more. Yes, Nightforce NXS and ATACRs are bulletproof, but I don't think you have to have one.