newbie help

gary alford

i am looking to get into reloading, i've never done it, never been around it and have no idea where to start.

what components do i need to buy? what brands are best/most reliable? how much should i expect to spend to get set up initially, not counting powder, brass, primers and bullets?

i shoot a 7mm rem mag and a 25-06 if that matters

thanks in advance,

ga

Reloading is not hard, I've been loading my own rifle ammo since I was 12 years old.

That being said; even though not hard, it requires concentration and attention to detail. Certain practices and "rules" if you will, will keep you and your family and your firearms safe.

1st, pickup a couple of reloading manuals, the more info you can gather the better off you'll be, I promise. There are also some DVD's and videos out on reloading that can be very helpful.

There are alot of questions in your post, and you could very likely get 100's of opinions on what components are "best". I am partial to Hogdens powder, mainly because I've got an old reload manual that was personally autographed by the Hogdens guys........It's all I've ever used and am completely satisfied with it.

Since you mention being totally new to this, for now; I'd recomend a basic starters reloading kit. RCBS has been a big name in reloading for many many years and their stuff is good quaility. At minimum; You'll need a press with priming arm/tube or a hand primer, dies and shell holders, powder scale, calipers, loading block, case lube, and powder funnel.

From there; you can add all sorts of things to your reloading inventory. I've got alot of $$$'s tied up in precision handloading equipment. Granted, It's stuff I've accumulated over nearly 30 years, but alot of money nonetheless. I don't "reload" however, I "handload" and making the most precise ammo I can is my goal. I don't do it to save money.