New Leica Bino/rangefinder

One of the things i'm excited to see release at SHOT this year. The Geovids have been do for a redesign for a couple of years now and the new product from what I've seen will be worth the wait.

This year's SHOT is going to be a good one. From Nightforce to Leica to Zeiss and everything in between, we're going to see some good awesome products this year industry wide.

I'm dying to know what they've come up with. I was just about to pull the trigger on a new pair of Geovids. I suppose I'll wait a bit now. Hopefully someone in the know will chime in.

Jason

that would be a bummer. although it does have an impressive list of features despite the poor laser performance. looking forward to hearing more about these. problem is the el ranges will be here in a couple days:)

I am just learning about better lasers. These numbers at this point mean nothing too me. I understand it is the size of the beam. With that said the G7 which every thing I have read so far is good has a 2x4 Mrad. Now the Leica 10x42 have a 2.7x 1.5 so that would be quite a bit smaller?

Here is some info on Beam Divergence. It looks older but explains why certian beam divergences may be chosen. Looks like manufactures have to weigh the pros and cons to their choices.

Laser RangeFinders

I read in one of my college physics books that the size of the beam and the sensor can play a big role on how much divergence can occur and still get longer range reliability. This was information on much larger rangefinders though including aviation technologies. Not sure how much could be applied to handheld optics.

I cannot wait till we get some reviews on this bino. I really need a new rangefinder and the larger field of view would be great + less gear to haul around and much faster calcs for long range shots.