Need you guys help. Inexperience.

Juneau

Ok so my brain is absolutely fried trying to decide on a new long range scope.

I just bought a new .308 Rem 700 varmint.

Trying to decide on glass. My budget is $1000 +/_ $100,.... I 've narrowed my choices down looking at features and what I want. I have no experience with any of these and I need some pros / cons....

My priorities are:
Reliable tracking.
Max power range 20x to 32x.
Second Focal Plane
Non illuminated reticle / doesn't matter.
Glass Clarity
Some kind of ranging reticle,..not just mil dot,.
preferably moa/moa turrets/ reticle

my preferences are as follows,......somewhat in order,

1) Nightforce benchrest 8-32 ( a little high on budget, and hate the covered turrets and focus on end of bell.)

2) Leupold Mark 4 5-20x lr/t

3) Bushnell Elite tactical 6-24x50 HDMR Reticle ( love the reticle)

4) Vortex Viper pst 6-24

5) Nightforce SHV 5-20

Anybody have any reason for yes /no this one or that?

I dont like the covered turrets on the nightforce, but I know it will perform well.

How's the tracking on the bushnell?

Leupold Tracking??? good? no?

Vortex,.....ah just sort of leary being its a new company and I dunno about longevity.

I like the SHV,...but its got dinky little turret knobs,...and covered turrets which I despise.

Let me rephrase ....I dont range with reticle.......but I want some hold off/ bdc reticle,......not mil dots cause I don't use mil system
'

Im sorta strange I guess because I have to be turned on by the way something looks. There's some things I buy just because ...I Like it,.....doesnt always have to make perfect sense,...just something that makes me happy. Go figure.

Last edited:
1) Nightforce benchrest 8-32 ( a little high on budget, and hate the covered turrets and focus on end of bell.) (clearly out of your price range)

2) Leupold Mark 4 5-20x lr/t (regardless of which reticle you select it'll be Mils)