Need some help on choices M1, M2 or Cds dials for leupold?

buckand bull

Hello All, ok I am a newbie to the long range thing and I dont want to waste money on the wrong equipment. I am confused on which product to go with the M1, M2, or Cds dials for either just elevation or both windage and elevation?

I am shooting a 300 win mag floated barrel, 2.5 pound trigger, 180 grain hornady sst. The scope I am buying is the 4.5 14x40mm Long range side focus duplex leupold. I want to be able to practice and shoot out to 600 yards.

I was thinking the cds but the only issue is I would have to get them for my home state to practice, then every other state I will be hunting. I do want something that is pretty easy for a beginner though. I have also heard a lot of guys dont mess with getting a windage M1, CDS turret. Is that a good idea because how do u compensate the wind if needed?

Anyways what do you guys think is best?

I know if anybody knows its all the folks on this site

Thanks in advance!!

Your CDS turret will come with MOA markings so when you go to different states/elevations or develop different loads you can just print another chart in MOA. The CDS dials don't necessarily need to be tailored to a specific load or elevation. I think if you can get proficient with MOA dials you will be a more versatile shooter.

I have M1's but I am starting to think about the CDS dials because I occasionally find that I bump the dials a couple of clicks while I am packing my gun for coyote hunting. I have a friend who just got CDS dials put on a scope but hasn't used it yet. They feel very good and I think they will be less likely to get bumped off.