Necking down lapua cases

Wils37

I'm new to reloading and took some advice to use Laupua cases as they are ment to be the best. I shoot a 7mm08 and lapua only have 308 so I was going to neck them down. Can anyone see a problem with this.

I'm new to reloading and took some advice to use Laupua cases as they are ment to be the best. I shoot a 7mm08 and lapua only have 308 so I was going to neck them down. Can anyone see a problem with this.

No !

The Lapua cases are annealed and size down very easy. I have done this many times and the
only thing that I found was that the Hornady New dimension dies seemed to work the best
when down sizing the necks. I use the Redding bushing dies for loading.

The 308 cases are .020 shorter than the 7/08 overall and the body of the 308 is .039 thousandths
shorter than the body of the 7/08 so when sizing, neck only the front of the neck to a body length
of 1.750 leaving a donut at the base of the neck and it will headspace on this "donut" and fire form
perfectly.

The fact that the 308 cases are .020 thousandths shorter means that you should not have to trim
the case for chamber clearance.

Be sure and check the clearance of a loaded round against a fired case for at least .003 to .004.
clearance (Some thickening may occur.

J E CUSTOM

Not much more to add to that but always check your case lengths just to be sure. Taking a 30 cal down to 7mm will make the neck length grow some. Probably not enough to be an issue but put your calipers on each case JUST TO MAKE SURE. Cheap and easy insurance!!!