My Brass has a rim in the neck..WHY?

Lazerus

I have some 6.5 284 Norma BRASS THAT HAS BEEN FIRED FIVE TIMES. I aneeled it on the fourth firing. I originally turned the necks when I got the brass. I thought I would trim the brass and it hasn't grown at all. I thought I would for good measure, go ahead and re-turn the necks. When I slid the mandrill in, it only went in a little ways, and then stopped. I had to really force it in there with great effort. At the bottom of my necks there is like a rim of brass. I think I have heard this called a donut, but I don't know why this is there or how it got there. It wasn't there when I originally turned the necks. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Im no expert here but i would think your loads are a bit hot or there is a chamber issue.

Another thought are you neck sizing and doing it the wrong size? Might be when you seat the bullet it is making your ring... its out there but its a thought :)

Good Luck to you!

get a K&M neck turn tool with carbide "cutter" mandrel.

and, get a lee collet neck sizing die

The dreaded "donut" of brass moving up into the neck.

Get a neck reamer and ream the fired brass. Also known as inside neck turning.

or

Use a lee collet sizer wiith an oversized mandrel then outside turn the base of the necks.

I have 5 peices of 260 brass in my favorite lot that this happened to. I used the second method.

How are you sizing the necks(bushing/FL)?
How are you sizing case bodies?
When you initially turned necks, did you turn up onto shoulders a bit?
Why are you trying to turn again?
Are you seating bullet bearing into the donut area?

These necks that you're trying to turn now, have they been sized to fit the turning mandrel? How were they sized?