Move over 6.5 Creedmoor something New is Coming Thru ...

Is Creed II good for you too ?

• Total voters
Have one of each, so I didn't vote. Both great rounds with some overlap in the middle of their intended purpose. For straight steel shooting I like the 6, for a hunting round on bigger deer and possibly elk the 6.5 would get my vote.

I've been trying to decide between the two or 6.5prc in a new rifle. I'm new to long range shooting so trying to learn all I can!

I have a friend that I shoot with and he shoots a 6.5 Creed. while I shoot my
6mm Creed. we both like to reload our own ammo. and so far the 6mm has been shooting tighter groups than the 6.5mm at the 100 & 200yd targets but the 6.5mm seems to be doing better beyond that.
I would think that a 6.5 prc would do really good for the Long Range shooting.

Last edited:
I personally love both cartridges. I believe the 6mm Creedmoor is a solid, modern, cartridge that cleans up a lot of the past 6mm cartridges. It fits in a short action like a .243 and can be loaded to nearly equal the 6mm Remington. The 6mm Creedmoor can be used for varmints, predators, and light skinned game. It's also an awesome competition cartridge and is very accurate.