Most accurate? 22-250 or the new Ruger 204? OR other suggestions?

superlite17

Hi everybody, and thanks for your time! I know for many of you this may seem a REAL ignorant question, but I am relatively new to really long range hunting and am just learning/trying to understand coeficients etc.

I have 7 mag and pretty much hunted big game, but found I always love trying to dial it in with loads etc. at range. Anyway, i want to get a SUPER ACCURATE, high velocety rifle to enjoy at range, plink, and varmint some. But, while I understand little about coeficients etc. I want to buy the MOST consistantly repeatable accurate rifle calibre that I can... and let my learning curve, knowledge of powder/grain etc catch up WHILE having fun with it.
I do know some rounds are much more accurate than others, i do not know why, well i do know why to an extent, physics would indicate more aerodynamic etc, less drag would be better, i just do not really understand it. I know this has been proven, but cannot find ANYWHERE that the calibres are listed as to which in the Varmint range would, or should, all other things being equal be the most accurate round. Can any of you help me with this? What I want is which round theoretically would be the most accurate in the varmint sized guns?

PLEASE overlook my ignorance, and help me out!!! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif

Thank You Graciously - Rod

I think you will find that any caliber can shoot equally. Some are better for bench rest type precision. You will find that the 20 caliber is somewhat limited by bullet selection. My personal favorite is the swift. I am sure some of the benchrest guys will chime in and theoretically I think the 6br or the ppc's are the best, but are not going to give you the same velocities that the swift 250 or 204 will.