Mill or MOA

Kaveman44

So I'm just getting started in PRS and I've only ever known MOA ,it comes to me quickly but from everything I read all most everybody uses mills in PRS, is it worth me just to learn Mills or do I just stick with MOA.

Thanks guys

I'm leaning that way, also I read that dialing up in Mils is much faster than MOA
It's much easier for my mind to calculate in 10' than in 4's.

It's a .1 mil per click vs a 1/4 moa click..

I used to be an moa guy, but once I was exposed to mils, I would never go back. Now, I own plenty of both, but when I have the option, I go mils every time.

I don't think it really matters to be honest. Spotters aren't allowed to call out corrections so communication between the 2 doesn't matter. I compete in prs and I'm still using a moa scope. I'll eventually probably change over but its not high on my list.

Good article that does a great job of comparing the two.

MIL vs MOA

A quote from the article
  • 1/4 MOA adjustments are slightly more precise than 1/10 MIL
  • MIL values are slightly easier to communicate
  • If you think in yards/inches the math for range estimation is easier with MOA. If you think in meters/cm the math is easier with MIL.
  • If you have a friend that is already using one, there is some advantage to being on the same system.
  • Around 90% of the pros use MIL
  • More product options in MIL
  • Whatever you decide, go with matching turret/reticle (i.e. MIL/MIL or MOA/MOA)

I can add one more bullet point; if you want to range with the scope use MIL but if you use a range finder it doesn't matter which you use.

No "learning" needed really - it is just a "meterstick" as opposed to a "yardstick". I agree that ranging using MRAD (milliradians/MILs) is easier for me - don't know if because I learned that way or if it just is ...

MIL vs MOA -Same process - different ruler ... both are great. Whatever your spotter uses needs to be the same so you don't have to try and convert on the fly.