Marlin X7 factory stock...Bed it?

entoptics

Curious what you all think.

Marlin XL7S, 270 Win. This is a "spare" rifle I don't particularly like that much, and I got it as a hand me down, so I have essentially no money in it beyond rail/rings/scope/bipod.

I'm wondering if anyone thinks it would benefit from a home grown bedding job. I've never done one before, but I'm generally pretty handy. I have a couple tubes of JB weld, that were for another bedding boondoggle I never went through with, so I could probably get the job done for a whopping $0.00 expense.

Here's some pictures of the stock. It has aluminum pillars molded in, and the fore end has a couple nubs that rub on the barrel (intentionally I believe).
Marlin Stock 3.jpg
Marlin Stock 2.jpg
Marlin Stock 1.jpg

My thought was to try and fill around the action/lug, and grind off the nubs and relieve the fore end to leave it free floated.

My only concern is actually making things worse. It shoots about 1.2 MOA on average with a 140 Accubond load I've found for it, but usually worse with different bullets (145 ELDX patterns like my 12 gauge!). It's satisfactory as a spare/loaner, but if I could bring her down to a consistent MOA with some JB weld and elbow grease, I'd consider it worth the trouble.

What say ye?

I have several of these rifles and they shoot great. Currently two of them have been modified with different barrels and shoot great.

My brother on the other hand bought one, I bedded the stock, ground off the tabs to free float the barrel, stiffen the fore arm with carbon arrows using epoxy. I squared up the recoil lug prior before bedding. Modified the trigger to just a tad less than two pounds and is nice a crisp. The rifle shot consistent 3/4" groups using blue box federal 130 gr ammo. His hand loads using 130 TSX and H4831 shot 1/2" groups. These rifle will shoot but needs a little work.