Loading to magazine length/bent tips

Briant_az

I've got a 300 RUM that I am unable to load close to the lands due to internal mag length. This hasn't really been an issue as far as accuracy of the rifle goes.
I have been shooting 200gr Accubonds in the rifle for 3-4 years. Last year I had the tip of one of the Accubonds come off in the reloading box. I thought this was weird but never really gave much thought to it. I just assumed it was a faulty bullet and shot it the next time I went to the range. This year after shooting a deer I took the other two rounds out of the internal mag and I noticed that the tip of the other two bullets were bent. Obviously the recoil of the gun if making the loaded rounds hit the front of the mag box.

Is there a way to stop this? What length are you guys loading to, under you mag length?

Any help or insight is greatly appreciated.

Brian

Wyatt's mag box. I've already talked to my shop about the big 3.990" one that requires a cut in the action, CFE-9?

Or Hammers set to factory mag length. The reason I haven't done the box yet is I spent the money on some 180 HHs.

I have the same issue in 300, 338/340 and 375 Weatherby.
I run them .005"-.010" from max mag length. This helps slow them down, the tips still get hit, but not as bad.
My light Kimber's are the worst, they flatten the tips real good no matter how close I keep the tips to the mag box. Funny thing, my Win Model 70 EW in 338WM is only half a pound heavier than my Kimber's and it doesn't deform the tips at all.

Cheers.