Largest cartridge you suppress/won’t suppress?

squeeeeze

I have a 28Nosler heavy hunting rifle shooting a mild load with 195's just over 3,000fps with a Terminator T3 brake and is a pussycat for recoil. Threaded my Thunderbeast Ultra 9 on and kicks like a mule now suppressed vs. braked. What's your biggest cartridge and grain bullet where you run a brake instead of suppressed to handle recoil?

I've been running suppressors on most of my firearms for a few years now and enjoy the sound reduction and decreased recoil (vs, non braked). Very mild recoil on my 7WSM shooting 180's at just over 3000fps.

Last edited:
I'm running a Gemtec one on my Tikka T3 altralight, man did it cut down the reciol on this unit!
thumbnail_IMG_0807.jpg

My hunting partner is running a Thunderbeast altra 9 on his 300wm, the rifle didnt kick that bad befor but is down right pleasant with the altra 9 on it.
Ya they add length and a little weight out there but worth it!
thumbnail_IMG_0941.jpg

If I used the 338 Edge more it would get a suppressor too but just cant justify it right now.

The Thunderbeast have a muzzle brake that is threaded on the outside and the suppressor threads right over that. This is the setup I have with what they call a compact brake but doesn't help with recoil mitigation unfortunately.

I have a 28Nosler heavy hunting rifle shooting a mild load with 195's just over 3,000fps with a Terminator T3 brake and is a pussycat for recoil. Threaded my Thunderbeast Ultra 9 on and kicks like a mule now suppressed vs. braked. What's your biggest cartridge and grain bullet where you run a brake instead of suppressed to handle recoil?

I've been running suppressors on most of my firearms for a few years now and enjoy the sound reduction and decreased recoil (vs, non braked). Very mild recoil on my 7WSM shooting 180's at just over 3000fps.

Agreed! An effective muzzle brake reduces felt recoil/muzzle rise better than a suppressor.