It is the Gun, not the shooter

Sealesniper

I remember 34 years ago, when I watched my dad shoot his first deer with me in NC. I was six, and the deer looked so far away, and he made the shot look so effortless with his Remington 700 in .308. We still pass the field today on the way to our farm, and the barn he leaned against is almost completely gone, and that long shot as I remember it was just over 100 yards....but it soliidified in my young eyes, that my dad could shoot.

Over the years I have taken deer and other game with my dad at my side, and have become a pretty good shot. He still tells people of my off hand shot of 348 yards with his .308 on a good buck down east. So as I started trading out my factory arms for custom made arms, he was sure my ability to shoot accurately was because of the shooter and not the gun. With my customs, I have the confidence to shoot a long way, because I know if I have the range right, the bullet will hit what I hold the crosshairs on.

My dad is now in his 71st year and his old .308 is still his go to gun. He took several nice deer this season, and I was lucky enought to share three great hunts with him where we both took deer, and I took them well over 300 yards. He commented that he wished he had been able to shoot like me, but at his age, the shooter was not stable enough to make that happen.

Shortly after these talks, I was working with my friend and local gun builder, Dan Glover of Dan's Custom Guns, about a new Night Force Scope for my 6x47 Lapua. Dan showed me his scope on his personal 7-300 WSM that he built and offered the scope for sale, but the reticle was not what I wanted. We started talking about his gun and my father. Dan has a range at his shop, and he let me throw a few rounds downrange, and they were touching. I got to thinking about my dad, and asked if the complete gun package was for sale. Dan was not looking to sell it, but he said...."It could be for sale".