Is Switch barrel feasible for top accuracy?

AJ Peacock

All,

I have a Rem 700 I've been shooting for 30+ years (7RM) and we've become somewhat accustomed to each other. The barrel is almost done, it still shoots sub 1/2 MOA, but the throat is going fast, the bullets are seated about as long as I dare to catch up to the throat.

The question:

In a perfect world, I'd have 2 barrels (7mm Rem Mag, and 375 Ruger) and they'd both shoot 1/2 moa or so. Is this feasible, or a pipe dream? (standard ADL contour, 24" long)

Thanks,
AJ

Feasible? Yes!

With the proper smith I'd say it's pretty much a certainty.

There's was a switch barrel 308/6br LRH/6BR Benchrest barrel that did just fine.

All,

I have a Rem 700 I've been shooting for 30+ years (7RM) and we've become somewhat accustomed to each other. The barrel is almost done, it still shoots sub 1/2 MOA, but the throat is going fast, the bullets are seated about as long as I dare to catch up to the throat.

The question:

In a perfect world, I'd have 2 barrels (7mm Rem Mag, and 375 Ruger) and they'd both shoot 1/2 moa or so. Is this feasible, or a pipe dream? (standard ADL contour, 24" long)

Thanks,
AJ

AJ .
This has been a long time debate and probably continue to be a Chevy versus ford debate and
it boils down to what you want to try.

There are pros and cons with a switch barrel. the main advantage is cost. In theory all you
need is another barrel and preferably two cartridges with the same case head size, plus a
very good smith to set the barrels up where they can be set up precisely each time.

The down side to me is the fact that every time you change barrels you will have to spend
time and ammo to re-zero the rifle and with different calibers, harmonics will be different
even with the same contour barrel because of the bore diameter and bullet weight,
requiring different action screw torques possibly for maximum accuracy and a very durable
bedding job to maintain its fit after many swaps.