How dirty should a new rifle barrel be?

DartonJager

Just picked up my newest rifle a CVA Cascade in 450 Bushmaster.
Put it in my cleaning cradle saturated the bore with Sharp Shoot-R Wipe-out Accelerator then filled the bore with Wipe-Out foaming bore cleaner plugged both ends and let soak for 1-3/4 hours.
Pushed a cleaning patch down the bore using a .45 caliber nylon bore bush that will not react with the Wipe-Out and add to the amount of blue that ends up on the patch.

I was rather shocked at how much blue was on the patch along with carbon fouling indicating a fair amount of copper fouling had been deposited in the bore. I have been using Wipe-Out as my sole bore cleaner for well over 10 years now and are very familiar with how much fouling and what types should be on the patch in direct relation to how many shots I fired prior to that cleaning and based on my experience I usually only get this level of coppery/blue fouling after 10-15 rounds.

I have cleaned many brand new rifle barrels and never recall one having been this badly fouled with copper.
I have included a pic to help people in forming their replies.

Like to add this is my eighth new rifle in the last 4-5 years and first new one in about 8 months and I could be wrong or just not recalling how fouled the others were all that well. Please let me now what you all think.

Attachments

• 20220902_165708.jpg
    20220902_165708.jpg
    1.3 MB · Views: 87
Last edited:
Don't own a CVA, but they do look like nice rifles at their price point. It's probably an unlapped button rifled barrel and the lands could be a little rough after cutting the chamber. The color of the patch doesn't mean is won't shoot. Savage factory barrels are pretty much the same way but shoot great after a 100 rounds or so. I had an after marked barrel recently that was lapped with a "polished" throat. It fouled more than expected with some high SDs. But it settled in right around 100 rounds.