GRIP-N-PULL - I put it through its paces.

royinidaho

Every once in awhile something ends up on the reloading bench that is worth mentioning. The something this time is the Grip-N-Pull bullet puller. This is a well thought out, well designed, well made bullet pulling tool. Not a rehash of existing technology but a whole new way of pulling bullets. And it's darn handy and much more convenient than what I've been using for many years.

My first impression of the tool(s) was it good looks, feels great with great fit and finish. It's made of the correct material. Workmanship is first class. The tool is KISS at its finest.

The two units cover all of the rifle calibers. There are pistol bullet pullers also but I'm interested only in rifles. The Standard Rifle model covers 17 through 30 calibers. The Large Rifle model covers 8mm to 458 calibers.

I used the Grip-N-Pull to pull hand loaded bullets in .224, .277 .308, 375 calibers. All bullets were pulled with the intention of reuse. I visually inspected, miked and spun enough of each pulled bullet in the several calibers to assure myself that there were no scratches or mechanical deformation. It did take a couple of tries to get the correct grip, not too heavy and not too light, with the smaller caliber bullets. Once I got the "hang" of it, things went smoothly. I scratched only three 224-caliber bullets and none of the other calibers.

I shot sufficient number of Nosler and Berger bullets pulled with the Grip-N-Pull in 270 and 338 calibers to prove to myself that accuracy of pulled bullets wasn't affected.

The instructions indicate that the Grip-N-Pull shouldn't be used on factory-crimped cartridges. I tried some factory 308s and had no success. My grip isn't what it used to be. Darn it! Another more robust individual had no trouble pulling the factory 308s.