Garmin Birdseye

Discussion in 'Maps, GPS and Google Earth' started by hsargent21, May 29, 2012.

  1. hsargent21

    hsargent21 Member

    Messages:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    Anyone using the Garmin Birdseye program in their GPS? Thinking about signing up for it and looking for feedback.
     
  2. RFtinkerer

    RFtinkerer Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    61
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    I use it. Eats memory like nobody's business, careful about your area selections. Also, they have a download limit per block of I think 250 MBs, so it's not like you can select all of Colorado and go away while it downloads all day. But, it's great fun to hike and see where you are, overlaid with the topos...I've got my tree stands labeled and hiking areas set. I set the Birdseye to "brighter" on my Montana; washes out the image a little but the topo lines show up better against it. The resolution is not as high as Google maps, and I think they're 2005 images, but it is what it is. I think also you can find satellite maps on the net. I just did this cause it was easy through Basecamp.
     

  3. Doublegun

    Doublegun New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    I tried Google terrain/satelite maps. Looks the same as Birdseye only free. Downside; you can only have limited maps at any one time. You can save them to your PC and add or remove as needed. Here is How to. Give it as try. If you don't like it "Delete it" all it cost you was a little time. It has served my needs.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. HuntingHiker

    HuntingHiker New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    >Garmin have a limit of 100 tiles for custom maps.

    But it is posible to bypass this restriction and create any size .jnx gmap for garmin and fill up all space on 16Gb micro sd card. If you do not know how, I can do it for you. :)
     
  5. Doublegun

    Doublegun New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    HuntingHiker that would be great if you could give directions on how to bypass . I'm using the Astro 320.
     
  6. HuntingHiker

    HuntingHiker New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2012