Expecting too much from my rifle??

hugheserj

Hi all,

First time poster here. I've been handloading for quite a few years now and recently bought a Sako 85 finnlight 300wm for hunting red deer and tahr here in New Zealand out to 750m.

I've been working on loads for a while and after not having much luck with 180gr accubonds I've moved to 175gr Federal Edge projectiles in Norma brass with AR2217 powder which I think is equivalent to H1000 in the USA.

Right now I have 0.5MOA or less shooting at 2930 fps but once I increase powder/velocity group size grows quite quickly.

I was hoping to get tight groups at 3100+fps.
Should I be satisfied with what I'm getting or keep searching for something better??

I wouldn't stop there, other powder may work far superior for you.
I run AR2225 (RETUMBO), RE25 & Supreme 780 in my 300WM with bullets in 200-230gr weights.
Not all powders that work well in most rifles work in all rifles equally as well, so experimentation is key.

Cheers.

Agreed! All of my 3 .300WM seems to hold tighter groups with heavier than 180s. H4831SC has been my go to powder for them.

I liked to use 76gr of R22/Fed 215M primer, Winchester cases and the older 180 Barnes XBT. Right at 3100fps from 24" barrel. The newer TTSX ( or something similar) will do the same. Having said that, most 300WM/180 loads, while listed as 2950fps, rarely do. So, a "solid" 2950fps isn't bad, but 3100 is achievable with the right powder.

I am "tainted" as I used to shoot the old Federal Premium High Energy 180 Partition 30-06 loads at 2970fps! No way was I going to settle for that in my 300! ha. Good luck to you pard!