Ex bal

Discussion in 'Equipment Discussions' started by ~Ace~, Dec 25, 2009.

  1. ~Ace~

    ~Ace~ Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    69
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Is the disk designed to only allow you to install Once ? I bought it a good while back and installed on Axim X-30 it died not long after, today I got a X-51 and tried to install but the disk can't be read in any of my puters ? :eek:( had plans for it this weekend.
     
  2. jmason

    jmason Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,527
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    You should be able to install it on as many machines as you like. I don't know the legalities of it but physically it's possible.
     

  3. ~Ace~

    ~Ace~ Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    69
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    That is what I thought, but after 1.5 hours trying I am looking into other options lol 2 Laptops and 2 desktops that won't read disk... I guess I should have made a backup.
     
  4. kcebcj

    kcebcj Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,215
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008

    What do you mean “can’t be read”? Is it that it won’t auto start? Have you used windows explorer and gone directly to the drive and tried to run from there or right clicked the appropriate drive letter and chose “open”? If you have ands it still won’t run I would say the disk is shot. They do go bad. If you’re using a Mac I haven’t got a clue.

    Yep should have made a backup!
     
  5. ~Ace~

    ~Ace~ Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    69
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Reads like a Blank disk in CDRW's, and gets a Corrupt error on a DVDR ..
     
  6. linksmechanic

    linksmechanic Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    668
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    clean the disc really well.
     
  7. Eaglet

    Eaglet Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,779
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Take the disk to one of those movie rental places, they usually provide a service in which the nicely grind the bad side of the disk. They don't charge much and you may save the day.

    Good Luck!
     
  8. Buffalobob

    Buffalobob Writers Guild

    Messages:
    5,085
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2001
    Go into "properties" and then into "advanced" and then find "compatibility" and tell the machine to use the oldest version of windows that is in it. Probably Windows 98.

    Then use "run" to get it to open

    This may not be the exact right sequence but my point is to drop down to a older version of windows and try that. This is how you get the really old computer games such as Tomb Raider to play on the new machines. :D Always fun to go hunt the raptors.

    Other option is to email Gerald Perry and see what his advice is.