Colorado Elk Hunt (Salida Area)

Bitis Arietans

I am a completely "green" Elk Hunter!

Can you share your thoughts and pics? Is anyone familiar with this area in Co.?
What should a expect in terms of antler size? A 300+ Elk looks pretty impressive to me, but is that what is typical?

Is a 250 class more realistic?

I hear that the Southwest is the "hot spot" for Elk, but these hunts are typically pricey

This would be a guided hunt...Looking at $5K

The class of elk you take is usually praportional to the itch of your trigger finger. Take your time to judge the animal. If its not the one you want don't shoot and dont let your guide talk you into shooting it. Do some online searching and learn how to roughly field judge elk.
You may look around the Montrose/Grand Mesa area. Good elk herd and decent bulls. I have no experience around the Salida area. Attached is a picture of a 309" bull that my father in law took 2 years ago.

Attachments

• PART951381967014853.jpg
    PART951381967014853.jpg
    258.9 KB · Views: 423
Bitis - I live not too far from the Salida area. I'd say it is just about as good of a place to hunt elk as anywhere else in CO. "Hot Spots" in Colorado are more a function of getting into a limited draw unit that takes 1+ points to draw, or getting onto a large section of private property that isn't hunted too much. However, even over-the-counter units open to everyone have some nice bulls, you typically just have to know the area well and work a little harder.