Cheap 6x284?

buffalorancher

I know everyone is probably getting tired of 6 mm discussions but I thought I would pick some more knowledgeable brains before I move ahead on a new project. What I am wanting is a 6x284 pick up gun. I already have one 6x284 and it is a great rifle and I enjoy it even with some of it's short comings but I can't bring myself to haul around in my pick up a rifle that cost almost 5K to build. Since my day job is ranching I get to do a lot of drving and I would like a rifle that isn't a *** but something that won't break my heart when the dog knocks it over. The rifle would have to be long action with a reasonably fast twist but I don't want a 12 lb rifle either. My bullet inventory in 6 mm goes from 87 gr to 115 gr so I could even live with a 10 twist and try 95 gr BT's. The first thing that comes to mind is rebarreling a Savage. Does anybody have a better idea or done something like this? I am not on a budget so that's not the major factor here. Any input would be appreciated.
Thanks
Lance

THe Savage rifles generally shoot extremely well, I would personally recommend rebarreling and machining the barrel in the same manner as a Rem 700. THis has worked out very well with my customers.

In many cases, the Savage receivers are pretty **** true as they come from the factory because they use a floating bolt head. If your not looking for 1/4 moa groups and can be happy with a 1/2 to 3/4 moa rifle at worst, I would say get a Savage and rebarrel it with a #3 or #4 Lilja with a 1-9 or 1-10 twist. I personally would go with a 1-9 6 groove just so that you could shoot any bullet you wanted up to the 105 to 107 gr long range bullets as well as the light varmint bullets.

Stock wise, there are several you could use that would not break the bank and be very functional. Obviously the McMillans would be on top of the list for quality but there are others that are lower priced that would still serve you well.