Cant pull the trigger on what I want.

I am new to the field of long range shooting. I have been shooting my whole life and have shot thousands of rounds and I have always been fascinated with the idea of just throwing a chunk of copper and lead hundreds of yards. I have been eyeing the Remington Sendero SFII for a couple months now, however, I am nervous that I am going to be spending a TON of money on a rifle I am not going to like. I see Remington and Savage as my top 2 picks; and all I can see from discussions are comparable to the argument of Ford and Chevy. Both have their advantages and disadvantages. I am also on the fence about the caliber I want to go with. On previous purchases I have always gone smaller and have regretted it. I have shot thousands of .308 rounds and love the caliber, but I want to take the step up to a .300 win mag but I am worried I am not going to enjoy it. I am just wondering if anyone around here felt the same way that I did when they first started out, and what they finally ended up doing. Applications for the gun are going to be long range plinking, eventually going out west to do some potential elk hunting. I also do alot of whitetail hunting as well so I might potentially use the gun for that too.

What part of the 300WM are you afraid you won't enjoy? Check out the guns for sale in this forum there is probably something there that catches your eye and may save you a little money but honestly a sendero is a very nice rifle to start with and you have a good platform for a build later if you so desire. If it was recoil put a brake on it you can find good choices here for that also .

Mostly welcome.:)