burning exposed lead tip?

Konrad

Hi Folks,

I just received the latest issue of an otherwise reputable magazine (at least I thought they were reputable) and an article there said something like…at modern magnum velocities an exposed lead tip (such as the Sierra Game King) will burn off!!!

I am now wondering at what temperature/velocity will this be a true statement or is this fellow full of … well, you get the idea.

Thanks,
Konrad

Let me know what Mag that is so I can drop my subscription if I do have one . Whomever wrote that article is so full of horse dung you could throw a seed at him and it would grow. Total BS

Lead melts at 621F....

I was shocked.
Guns and Ammo November 2013.
I have enormous respect for Craig Boddington but the statement, "At modern velocities an exposed lead tip will usually burn off…" in his article "Deer Bullets 101" really surprised me.

While I am no aeronautical engineer and don't really know the amount of heat generated but bullets traveling at 4000+ fps (which few modern hunting rifles attain), it would stand to reason that I would have read about the issue and it would have been used as an advertising ploy years ago.

I was truly surprised.

And I Spose he thinks Plastic tip bullets won't melt?

While I have no scientific evidence to back anything up, I'd have to agree. Full of horse dung.

Thats a fair statement but....

The frictional coefficient of the atmosphere acting on an airframe (or pill) traveling at that speed isn't instantenous heating. Takes a while to heat to that temperature. Even a magnum round travelling a protracted distance like say 2,000 yards, travels that distance in seconds, not nearly long enough for the friction of the atmosphere to heat a lead tip to melting point plus.......... the pill is slowing down from the frictional resistance.

I'm no engineer but the article is phooooey.

The airframe is maintaining speed and frictional heating because it's powered. A pill isn't.