Bullet stability and muzzle brakes

Trap708

Hey folks,
I'm new to the forem. I have two questions:

1). I have a question when measuring a bullets length for determining bullet stability it seems to me you would measure from bullet base to bullet tip irregardless of tip type (ie plastic tips versus non plastic tipped). I've heard some Discount the plastic tips in measuring the overall which to me seems to be cheating? Any comments?
Also related I have a muzzle loading bullet ( .50 cal - 300?grain all copper bullet with a pettled skirt ) the 300 grain Thor. How would you suggest measuring it to determine bullet stability.
The muzzle brake question I have is by having a brake on a rifle more detrimental to scope life. I guy I know mentioned he had read that brakes were hard on scopes. I have 3 guns with brakes 2 with the Vais one on 300 WM the other Vais on Tikka CTR in 308 Win and then my most recent a Kimber 7mm08 and yet to have any problems. In fact I've had more scope problems ( returns to manufacturers) in the past with guns that didn't have brakes. Any comments?

As far as the tip issue, the lighter weight plastic has less affect on how much twist is needed compared to a copper or lead combo clear to the tip. This equates to less value given to the same length.

So, you do not or would not include the plastic tips length when plugging in the overall bullet length.
I think Litz wrote something about it if I'm not mistaken but I guess it depends on whose chart you're using. I know from making my own bullets that moving weight forward reduced stability.