blue printing question

harleybug

I'm starting my first long range rifle build and I'm trying to get all my tools together that I need to blueprint my rifle. I'm trying to find the receiver accurizing kit but brownells is out of stock and I'm hoping someone can point me in another direction. Any advice on my build and were to get my tools would be appreciated. My rifle is a Remington 700 7mm mag and I'm trying to build it the right way. It is my first build so I'm not one sided on anything so I'll take any advice.

I'm starting my first long range rifle build and I'm trying to get all my tools together that I need to blueprint my rifle. I'm trying to find the receiver accurizing kit but brownells is out of stock and I'm hoping someone can point me in another direction. Any advice on my build and were to get my tools would be appreciated. My rifle is a Remington 700 7mm mag and I'm trying to build it the right way. It is my first build so I'm not one sided on anything so I'll take any advice.

Check out http://www.mansonreamers.com/Current catalog/May 2013 Catalog.pdf , page 14-15.

harleybug,

There are supporters for both sides of the decision regarding standard size and oversize taps for re-cutting threads in some actions. Suffice it to say that most folks don't think that Remington threads are straight so they opt to re-cut them completely.

In general though, the process should start with the bolt raceway, making sure that it is true and straight before proceeding with the reamer and tap mandrel. In essence you are trying to get all of the important surfaces either parallel and or perpendicular. I'm leaving out all the specifics since it would entail a lengthy dissertation which you should have already read and understood.

Some of us use indicators to get the action aligned in a lathe in order to cut all the surfaces. We single point the threads instead of using a tap.