Bighorn SR3 shouldered prefit

Now we have come full circle. You are not talking about the same thing that Greyfox and I are talking about. Bighorn actions have such tight tolerances that the do not need to be in the hands of a gunsmith to get a chambered, threaded, shouldered barrel. This was the entire point of Greyfox's question. You can order a barrel just as I described from several gun smiths and even straight from Proof Research. With a large majority of other actions the gunsmith must fit to the specific action due to poor tolerances. I ordered two barrels so far for my Bighorn SR3. Once I received them I installed them with a barrel wrench and vise and was ready to go with no nut and no time without my action in my hand. As I stated previously PVA will apparently do this for a few other actions but I have no experience with them.

I was not responding to Greyfox's post but rather to your post ...

Rfurman.JPG

My gunsmith never said, I wanted to see it first before working it. He simply said, yes just bring it over.

Last edited:
So a long bighorn receiver with a floating bolt head can use blind shouldered prefits and be within spec swapping bolt heads back and forth too? If that is the case I'd say that's pretty impressive considering the extra parts in the bolt. I suppose If all the bolt lugs and abutments are cut identical the bolt head pin wouldn't much matter as far as headspace goes.
If that's the case I didn't know they were that tight and they deserve a pat on the back.
In the shoulder vs nut debate I don't think either is better than the other as far as switch bbls go, if everything's square and threads aren't overtorqued I reckon both would work the same. Uhh huhh.