Best bullet weight for 280 Ackley improved with 22 inch barrel

MIBirdhunter

I am relatively new to long range shooting/hunting and I have an elk hunt planned for this fall. I just got a savage ultralite in 280AI and was looking for suggestions for which bullet weight you would suggest for the 22 inch barrel which is a 1-19 proof carbon. I will be using factory loads but may order from Copper Creek to work up the most accurate loads.

Thanks in advance!

I have the same basic rifles. 150 grain seems the sweet spot. 131 hammer hunters and rl-26 really run easy but I'm going to go up a little for elk too. my 1/10-22"lilja likes the 131 haven't shot the proof enough yet to say which one it loves. 1/8-22" proof.

As mentioned above already, the best would be a bullet from 160gr to 168gr, 160 gr Accubond, 162gr SST or ELD-X, I havent tried the 168gr Bergers but many here say they love them, I'll be trying them out on deer this coming fall. The lowest I would go is 150gr Accubond , ABLR or 154gr Interbond which will also work great.

M
I am relatively new to long range shooting/hunting and I have an elk hunt planned for this fall. I just got a savage ultralite in 280AI and was looking for suggestions for which bullet weight you would suggest for the 22 inch barrel which is a 1-19 proof carbon. I will be using factory loads but may order from Copper Creek to work up the most accurate loads.

Thanks in advance!
My 1-9 twist likes 168 Berger's that's the heaviest I've got in .284 diameter.

My 22" noodle barrel remington mtn rifle shot 168lrabs okay...first two touch or so..next always varied an inch and a half one way or the other....but that bullet trying to get out of that liteweight barrel was about max.....
140gr or so I think would be optimum from a liteweight...
Mines 8.5 with scope..sling..chamber and mag loaded....

I don't think you have enough time to buy and try all the variables in powder, bullets, dies, testing etc. I would buy some loaded ammo like below👇