Best Ballistic Software?

teh

Howdy all! I was wondering if some of you could relay your thoughts and experiences with different ballistic programs. I've never used any before, and with options from $40- $170, I want to be sure I'm making the right choice.

Anyways, I imagine the ideal setup for me would be a detailed program for my desktop where I can enter all of the data specific to my rifle (bullet type, weight, powder, muzzle velocity, etc etc) and play around with diferrent theoritical loads, and then I'd like to synch that with my Pocket PC...I'd like to have the rest of it (using the pocket PC to calculate drop/adjustments) be as simple and quick as possible.

If any of you have personal experience with any of the programs out there, care to share your opinions? Is one better than another? Any easier/harder to use?

Thanks!

I have used Exbal for a long time and have just recieved the new Sierra software.
i have exbal on both computer and pocket PC-Works great!

I have the Exbal by Perry Systems (sold by Nightforce) and I am very pleased with it. I have both on my desk top and my hand held computer as well

Nomad.jpg

If you haven't ever used any ballistics programs, you should rectify that problem before purchasing one. The free ones are adequate for most situations that a beginner should be shooting in. The one that I prefer is JBM

JBM - Calculations - Trajectory

It is very powerful and about as accurate as any other up to 1500 yards. So many things happen past 1000 yards that it is usually very difficult to determine the accuracy of the predictions of a computer programs versus the myriad of environmental conditions. Small things like the yaw of the bullet leaving a specific barrel make it impossible to be 100% accurate.

I print off the drop charts and add a few pieces of information such as temperature and altitude corrections and then laminate it. I also carry a cosine chart if the terrain warrants it.