Bedding question for the gurus

jonnybullslayer

Hi guys,
Hoping you can help me out with a situation. I have a Savage 300 RUM that I've been sitting on for a couple of years waiting to put it into a BVSS Stock. One came along and I snatched it up and am now anxious to start working up a load for it. The issue I'm having is with the bedding. It was previously bedded, including the barrel nut and first inch or more of the barrel. When I tried to put the action in, it seemed to teeter around the lug area and I could get the rear action screw to tighten, but couldn't pull the front down far enough to get the front action screw started.

I removed the bedding around the barrel nut and barrel with a hot soldering iron and kept checking. That helped, but it still seemed to teeter up front so I widened out the lug area (sides of the stock) and opened it up just a hair.

I can now get both screws started and tightened, but it still feels like it teeters up front as I put the action in. I'm used to actions just falling into place evenly. I really don't want to waste time, money, and effort on working up a load if the bedding is going to make it shoot all over the place.

How can I tell if it is bedded correctly? Can I put something with color on it, lay the action in without screws and pull it back off and check for contact? Or should I strip it all out and start over?

Suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

JB

Hi guys,