Beam Scale

groc426

Brand new to the reloading game. I've been reading and going through as much info as I can. The one thing I'm struggling the most with is what scale to purchase. Since I'm new to this, I'm trying to keep costs within reason -- that means no A&D FX120i me. At the moment I have a cheap jewelers digital scale, but wouldn't want to trust it alone. The only safe, affordable option seems to be a beam scale.

I've read that many of the new beam scales are made in Mexico and China and don't produce the same level of accuracy as the older versions do. Are there any newer beam scales that are still accurate? Redding #2 perhaps?

Are there older, reliable brands of beam scales that I should keep an eye out for on Ebay?

Sorry if this question is posed often.

My rcbs 505 works great. I went back to it after buying 3 new digital scales last year that were inaccurate. Like you I can't justify big $ at the moment for a scale. I just want a accurate digital scale.

I use a RCBS Chargemaster Lite to throw 1 grn less than my charge weight then dump it in my RCBS M1000 beam scale and trickle up. Very consistent and always have 2 checks. I usually have very low ES and SD. works for me. By the time I'm done trickling on the beam scale the CM already has the next load thrown.

There's a Scott Parker tuned 10-10 in the Classifieds right now...you can thank me later.

I've searched through the classifieds and can't find this scale you're referring to. Would you be able to link it?

RCBS balances are the old stand by. The one above is a reasonable price.
In electronics I have the Gen 6 and really like it. If you get one you will never use a beam balance again. www.gen 6.com
Beam balances use a knife edge pivot point that can wear and give false results.
Electronic use a strain gauge that converts to elec. signal when loaded. The gage elec. signal varies some and the computer takes an average of the fluctuations to report as weight.