Barrel to action torque?

Joefrazell

Ok so I've got a rem 700 with a bartlein barrel that I had a gunsmith chamber and install. Also had a mbm muzzle brake installed. When I got the rifle back I noticed the brake was pretty loose. I was able to take it off with very little force with my hand. Anyways I know it would come loose under recoil so I grabbed a old inner tube and cut a good strip off and wrapped it around the brake several times and used a 10" pair of channel locks to snug it down. I'm a mechanic by trade and typically know how tight to get things by feel. It was snug but definitely not too tight. Okay so fast forward a month or so. Been having accuracy issues and trying to narrow down the problem I thought it would be a good idea to remove the brake and see if accuracy increases. So grab the inner tube and channel locks and start turning. I held the stock in one hand and the channels in the other and applied some pressure and the next thing I know the barrel is loose from the action. I was very surprised that this happened. If I had to put a torque value on it I'd say maybe 10 ft lbs max. It was not very tight. Now from what I've researched is they should be anywhere from 40 ft lbs to 100 or more. Would the lack of torque be my accuracy issue? I've got a call into my Smith and am waiting for a call back.

Speaking as a mechanic here, cuz I'm not a gunsmith, but torque specs are there to allow us to get things tight enough that they dont back off on their own, but not so tight that it puts undue street in the materials. The specs are based on material size and composition and threads.
So from my perspective, from the way I read your post, as long as the barrel was tight and not wobbling it shouldn't have any effect on accuracy.
But....a gunsmith who doesn't know how to torque a brake and a barrel might have made some other errors.