Back to Basics on Tuning

WildWillie

I've been on a roller coaster ride for the last few months with this xbow. At some points it is nailing tacks at 60yd and others it is missing completely (I've lost 2 arrows downrange so far)

Anyhow I just had new limbs put on and had it paper tuned from about 5yds out last week. Things were looking good.

Then Jon posted his article on paper tuning back to 15yds so I thought I would do the same to make sure everything was perfect before I started shooting 70yds + with broadheads.

I am using 1 unfletched arrow for the entire process.
My 1st 2 shots were showing about a 1.5" tear at 5yds. I corrected the knock and rest until I was shooting bullet holes. Moved to 10yds and had about a 3/4" tear. Made another slight adjustment to the rest and shot 2 bullet holes at 10 yds. Next to 15yds and while cranking I am hearing the clunk sound as the arrow is kicked off the knock. I'm figuring the string slipped on the spool as usual and take the shot at 15yds. This produced a huge 5" vertical tear. (What the @#$S Happened!) Two more shots at 15yds showed the same. Moved back to 10 yds and the tears are about 2".

I noticed the cams were a little out of sync. So I let down the limbs, adjusted the twist in the lower cables and got them back in sync.

Back on the range my 1st 2 shots were 1/2" tear. Everything happened just as above with it finally shooting bullet holes then all of a sudden I have the clunk sound/Arrow jump again and I'm back to 4" tears again.

Examining the X-bow again and I am noticing 2 things.

1st - Both cams have an inward cant on them. Putting a straight edge to the bottom of the cam shows about an 1/8" gap below the string at the bumper.

Should the cams be level ? Or have a slight cant to them ?