Accurizing advise for 300 WSM

telkev

I have ordered a new Remington 700 LSS in a 300 WSM. I plan to mount a Burris Black Diamond 4x16x50mm scope on it. I will mainly use this rifle for hunting, and I want to get all the accuracy I can out of it, while not going too overboard. Any suggestions?

telkev

Im no expert here, just someone who has gone through the same thing with a new Sendero in Win Mag, but first off I would try it as it comes from the box, you may be surprised, if it shoots . 50 - .75" from new you may have to spend large sums to get any real return for such an outlay.

Possibly one useful alternation would be to ge the trigger looked at or slicked up, I changed my trigger for an Arnold Jewell and although not the cheapest out there is a great unit. Then I would try a number of loads - hand load combos to see what your particular rifle likes.

Just my thoughts

I think most will recommend a couple things.

1. Bedding

2. Adjust the factory trigger. You can get it to 2.5 lbs consistent easilty and it will hold there.

3. Have the smith check the recoil lug for straightness and replace if necessary.

4. Maybe front of the rcvr if way out of align and finally lap the lugs.

5. check for massive coppering in the bore when shooting, if so, use the Fire Lap kits with only half of the bullets for each grit first.

Now Bobby Hart at RW Hart offers a complete accruizing package for $225 covering that not counting shipping. www.rwhart.com in PA 800-368-3656

That about covers everything you can "reasonably" do without a lot of money or changing barrels.

BH

Telkev,

Two years ago I bought a Winchester Model 70 Featherweight in 300 WSM which I topped with a Burris 4.5-14 X 32mm Short Mag scope and Burris Signature rings. It's a fantastic setup for hunting moose in Alaska which was why I purchased it. Now I'm using it on hogs here in Texas.